This is the "Finding books and articles" page of the "Writing 1020" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Writing 1020  

This guide is designed to help students in the WR 1020 classes at New England College with their multi-genre projects.
Last Updated: Jan 29, 2013 URL: http://libguides.nec.edu/WR1020 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Finding books and articles Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Finding Books in the Danforth Library Catalog

When using the searchbox below to search in the Library Catalog you will get results for all the holdings (books and resources) in all the libraries in our consortium of libraries. After your results come up, you will be able to limit to "Danforth Items Only" in the dropdown menu next to the words "Limit by:"

Search:
In:

 

Interlibrary Loan: Borrow a book from another library

 If you want any of the books listed in the catalog as belonging to the other libraries, or you find out about a book you want that Danforth Library does not have, you may order it through Interlibrary Loan using this form:

Finding articles in Databases!

To find scholarly articles in the library databases you may use the first link below to go to the alphabetical list of databases on the library website or the rest of the links to go directly to specific databases.

 

 

Searching EBSCOhost using Subject Terms

When you search using a KEY WORD, the results are articles that have that key word IN them. That does not mean the article is ABOUT that key word. When you search using SUBJECT TERMS, then the articles in the result list are all ABOUT that subject term.

To find out what SUBJECT TERM is best for your topic, you need to use the thesaurus in the database. In EBSSCOhost, you hover over the word SUBJECTS in the blue bar across the top of the screen. A drop-down menu of the thesauri for all the databases you chose appears. You may click on Academic Search Premier thesaurus as the most general database. The more specific databases will have different subject terms.

Click on the Academic Search Premier -- Subject Terms and a new search screen appears. You may type in your terms and find the SUBJECT TERM that best represents what you are trying to research. Copy and paste that SUBJECT TERM back into the Advanced Search interface and change Select-a-field (optional) to SU Subject Terms. Then you may click Search.

 

Searching ProQuest Central using Subject Terms

When using ProQuest Central, click on the word Thesaurus just above the top search field to the right in the Advanced Search interface.

The screen will gray out and a box will appear for you to type in your topic and look for SUBJECT TERMS.

Click on the small + next to any term to have it itemize what terms it stands for, related terms, broader terms, etc. Click in the box next to any term you want and then click on "Add to search" at the bottom and the subject term will automatically be entered into your search and the field next to it changed to Subject Terms.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip