Finding Books!
Danforth Library has LOTS of art books! To find ones that might include information about the comtemporary female artist you are researching go to to the Library Catalog using the link below. Remember to select "Danforth Items Only" from the dropdown menu next to the words "Limit by" on the search interface.
- Danforth Library Catalog
- Interlibrary Loan FormIf you don't limit to "Danforth items only" in the catalog you will come up with books in our consortium library which can be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Likewise if you find book reviews in the databases and want to get the books they talk about, use this ILL form.
Finding articles in Databases!
To find scholarly articles in the library databases you may use the links below to go to the databases page on the library website or directly to specific databases.
Websites!
- Elizabeth A. Sackler Center for Feminist ArtThis center is located at the Brooklyn Museum and has a "artist base" with images from and information on a variety of feminist artists.
- Museum of Contemporary ArtUse the search function on this website to type in your artist's name and see if they have had an exhibition there and find out more about it!
- Art ProjectCool website that lets you take virtual tours through museums and galleries all over the world to view artworks on display.
Library Catalog
Annotated Bibliography
What is an Annotated Bibliography?
An Annotated Bibliography is a list of resources with a write-up about each source ("annotation") that includes 3 parts:
- A short summary of the contents of the source
- An evaluation of the source's usefulness
- Your critical reflection on the source and how it applies (to the themes discussed in class, your knowledge of your chosen artist, etc.)
Check the Perdue University OWL site for Annotated Bibliography descriptions and samples:
http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/614/01/
Check out Southern Illinois University-Carbondale Writing Center's Annotated Bibliography description and examples:
MutualArt.com
MutualArt.com is another site where you can search by artist. ALL of the artists you are researching are listed.
- Type the artist's name into the search box
- When an image comes up with the artists name in blue letters beneath it, click on the name
- There will be tabs at the top of the next screen: overview, exhibits, auctions, articles, artwork, etc. Click on them to find the type of information you need
Artcyclopedia
Artcyclopedia is a funky website that allows you to search by artist (and other items). All the artists you are researching are available except for Joan Semmel (sorry, Nick!). After you type in your artist's name and click Search, a list of links comes up including: Museums, Galleries, Art Market prices, Interviews with the artist, Articles, Books, etc. Here and there are dead links, but there seem to be some good leads. Some of the articles aren't available at the links in full text, but you can find them in EBSCO or ProQuest Central. It is interesting to see how much the artist's works have sold for as well as some of the videos of interviews with the artists.
- ArtcyclopediaSearch by Artist Name
Library Class Survey
Please fill out this survey on the library class you had on February 28, 2012:
http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/KKG3YY5
THANK YOU! :)

Loading...
